What is Medicare?

Medicare is a federal health insurance program for:

  • People 65 years of age and older.
  • The disabled—those under age 65 who have received Social Security or Railroad Retiree disability benefits for 24 consecutive months.
  • Those with a diagnosis of ALS or Lou Gehrig’s Disease.
  • People with end-stage renal disease (permanent kidney failure treated with dialysis or a transplant).

What are the parts of Medicare?

Medicare has four parts. Each part covers different services.  Part A and Part B are also known as Original Medicare. 

For additional information our Medicare What you Need to Know guide is a great place to start. 

After you have read through the guide, you may want additional information and we can help! SHIIP/ SMP has dedicated volunteer counselors trained and certified to personally assist you in evaluating your options. We can answer your questions about Medicare and other insurance choices. Call 1-800-351-4664, (TTY 1-800-735-2942) or visit our visit our Find a Counselor page to connect with a SHIIP/ SMP volunteer near you.